Ramen Shack Gold: The Concept

It’s 2020 so why not go for the gold! A big part of this Tomiz collaboration happening is because of my long-time designer friend, Yoshiaki Takao, who has worked on the design for almost every restaurant I’ve been involved with, thought that Ramen Shack would be perfect here. Thanks Yoshi san!

Artist rendering.

In theory, Tomiz will be a cafe and bakery during the day and change into Ramen Shack at night with the cafe side still operational, meaning you can continue to purchase bakery goods and beverages and yes the matcha soft serve too. On weekends we will share the space for lunch and dinner.

Artist rendering.

So why Ramen Shack Gold? Honestly, I’m not so sure. Haha. When I was in Japan a few weeks ago, Yoshi San and I were discussing a different color logo that would match the Tomiz interior. So inspired by some Edo period black and gold signs I saw in Tokyo, I played around with making the shack logo similar. And once I did it just looked too perfect.

My next challenge will be to create a new menu and start from scratch. Sure, I can just make the menu that everyone fell in love with before, but I think it’s time for a change. A time to create a new story for this sequel of a shack. Yeah it could flop, but I’ll learn a lot in the process. Are you ready?

Leave a comment